History / Trivia:
Once two separate boroughs, Cannonborough is named for Daniel Cannon, a carpenter and mechanic who owned several lumber mills in the area. Elliotborough is named after Colonel Barnard Elliot, a Revolutionary War era planter and member of the Provincial Congress, who settled the area as early as 1785.
The area is home to a number of local restaurants, flower shops, bakeries, and other small boutiques. Both boroughs offer great opportunities for homebuyers, whether first time, or those interested in renovating a historic Charleston home.
Because Cannonborough/Elliotborough is home to much of MUSC’s large medical complex, the area offers many unique restaurants and shops. A unique feature of Cannonborough/Elliotborough is the multiple corner stores in the area, offering convenience and a dynamic sense of community. The area is home to many people that work at the hospitals and College of Charleston.